Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
1230 N Old World Third St, Milwaukee, WI, 53212, United States of America
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
8.0
Very good589 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
City Hotel
Rated top 10% in Milwaukee
  • 8.2Bar
    • Bar is awesome
  • 8.0Location
    • Great location
    • Parking is rare
  • 4.5Comfort
    • More comfort would be nice
  • 4.1Breakfast
    • Breakfast can be improved
Show more

What guests say

  • Modern Hotel
  • Friendly atmosphere
  • Parking is rare
  • Rooms need regular maintenance

Narrow reviews:

589 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 31, 2020
My stay
My first room wasn’t clean properly. Went to talk to the front desk . She gave me a new room that was suitable for my liking..
Regina1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nav
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback as it will help us to grow as a team. We apologize for the inconvenience of being checked into a dirty room but hope the rest of your stay was amazing!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 5, 2019
Nice area, right on the river, near restaurants and bars, great staff
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Ryan
Thank you for your feedback. I will celebrate with our team. Look forward to your return.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 11, 2020
It was right next to the Bucks arena. No parking lot for your car...so valet was the only option. Tons of eateries nearby.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Ryan
Thank you for your feedback. This property only has valet. Look forward to your return. Stay healthy!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 12, 2020
Great friendly staff, very polite and welcoming. Keep up the excellent customer services.
Cocoa1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Ryan
Thank you for your feedback. I will let our team know. Look forward to your return.
4.0FairCheck-in Mar 14, 2020
Grossed out and distraught by politeness
Won’t stay here again, we know that! The front desk staff was nice the first day because they were training but the remainder of the days, the staff was not friendly. Didn’t say hello. Our main concern was that our room smelled like musty, stale cigarettes and I thought this hotel was a fully smoke free hotel. Someone must have been smoking illegally in the room. We checked in too late to want to repack all of our things and move to a different room. We also had to call down for soap- who forgets simple hand soap in a room? Next, the back of the bathroom door was splattered with I hope was pizza sauce... We couldn’t control the temperature in our room very well so we were tossing and turning trying to regulate the temperature but it was still too cold. Finally, the last night the front desk called us around midnight looking for an Amanda, mind you, there was no one by the name of Amanda in our room. Talk about a rude awakening. I logged onto my Marriott Bonvoy account to complain about the smoke smell via their messenger but never received a response!
Hailey1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Ryan
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown. I am very sorry that you didnt have an exceptional time here. I will take your concerns and address them with our team and take corrective action. Hope you have a great day!
2.0PoorCheck-in Mar 14, 2020
The room was very noisy. We could hear the traffic all night and hear the showers in other rooms. The pool was cloudy so we didn't go in it. When we got home I checked my credit card and we were charged 2 - $50 charges and a charge for food we did not have. I called the desk and they revised my bill for the dinner and one of the $50 room fee and said the other should be credited soon. Be careful if you chose this hotel and keep an eye on the charges.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Ryan
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. I am sorry that you had issues and I will make sure to address these with the correct departments and resolve them so we don't incur any of these for future guests.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 7, 2020
Modern, clean, and plenty to do on location! Awesome!
1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 6, 2020
Great first stay
Pamela1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 26, 2020
Great services beautiful rooms i highly recommend.
Keaundre2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 29, 2020
I liked our room it was very spacious and clean. The only downfall of our stay was that this is a pet friendly hotel and there were dogs barking in multiple rooms around us all day and night. We contacted the front desk regarding this issue and wasn't much done to resolve it.
Tay1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 29, 2020
The service was excellent! The entire staff was very focused on customer service and very friendly. The only bad thing was the walls seem thin! They allow dogs (which I think is great) but a dog must’ve been left alone and barked for over an hour, thankfully this was earlier in the evening so not while trying to slee. However, the people two doors down came in at 2:30 and were so loud and proceeded to be loud for 30 mins till I called the front desk. They sounded like they were literally in our room...they were down two rooms and across the hall and it was still crazy loud. Once we called they took care of it and they quieted down.
LaX1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 29, 2020
Modern feel, clean and great location. Right across the street from the stadium.
Kim1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 28, 2020
Updated mod vibe, clean, great downtown walkability. Camille at the front desk was so welcoming and friendly!
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 28, 2020
Disappointed
Staff was amazing!! Location is great. Room layout was disappointing. Lots of street noise (steel grating on river bridge).The closet is not big enough to hang a full length coat or full length anything for that matter. Not much room to move around. Why stay at a three star hotel when four blocks away you can stay at a four star for less money.
Bruce1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 22, 2020
It’s a really nice layout and the staff was great,
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback!
4.0FairCheck-in Feb 15, 2020
Bed was covered with hair (human) at arrival. Refresh service changed it out quickly when asked. Nice pool however Some unruly guess made that experience disappointing . the group of 6 drunk people swimming in their underwear and making out in the pool Made us quickly leave. Security knew it was going on and did little to stop them other then make them take their alcohol out of the pool area. Have been to the aloft hotels in other cities, and this one definitely did not lived up to their reputation. For the price, there are many better options in downtown Milwaukee.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your feedback will be taken into consideration and addressed with the proper departments.
2.0PoorCheck-in Feb 14, 2020
Aloft stole my money
I paid on the Hotels.com app and was double charged by the hotel. They said they needed to hold 25.00 for incidentals and really charged my card 150.00 dollars that I didn’t notice until I left. Then when I called they claimed nobody was working that could fix it
Jerome1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown.
The hotel authorizes a $50 incidental hold per day. Upon check out, if no charges are made for the hold then it gets released after 2-5 business days. If this hold has not been released please contact your bank institution for funds availability.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 14, 2020
All good. Had fun. Great hotel. Great staff. Great location.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 14, 2020
The heating unit in room 5007 is so noisy, it was unbearable. We had ro turn ther heat off in order to sleep.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 9, 2020
Family trip to see a Bucks game. So close to Fiserv Forum, lots of good restaurants nearby. Indoor pool is great and employees were very friendly.
Ross2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for choosing our location for your hotel accommodations. We greatly appreciate your feedback!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 1, 2020
The room and location were wonderful. The only thing that would have increased the quality of the stay would have been a breakfast option. The room was wonderful.
2 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback!
6.0GoodCheck-in Jan 22, 2020
There was no soap. There was a shampoo dispenser in the shower but no soap in the room. Also there was garbage left in the room
Tammy1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback. We will be addressing your concerns
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 18, 2020
always come for my birthday. I love it there! Will be back next year
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for staying with us!
2.0PoorCheck-in Jan 10, 2020
Everything about our stay at The Aloft was horrible. It was so bad that we cancelled the second night we had booked and traveled in the ice storm to stay at a different hotel.
Nicole1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback.
4.0FairCheck-in Jan 11, 2020
Wont stay again
We will not be staying here again and i recommend if you're coming to Milwaukee for pleasure not to stay hete either.
1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
I am sorry to hear you will not be choosing our location for future accommodations. Please give us a call and we can discuss details on what prompted your stay to be dissatisfying.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 31, 2019
Shower leaked, soap dispenser didn't work, booked a suite on Expedia and only got a King room
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback!
6.0GoodCheck-in Dec 31, 2019
Didn’t get what we paid for
Booked a room with 2 beds and received a room with 1 bed for 4 people. There were no other rooms available so we got a blow up mattress. Not impressed
1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
We do apologize for the inconvenience. On the site it guarantees a standard room for the date elected. Upon arrival if your requested room type is available, we accommodate the request.
2.0PoorCheck-in Dec 31, 2019
They seemed to have been double booked my room was dirty had to have them clean it again the worst experiance i have ever had
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback! We have taken your feedback to consideration to improve our overall service expectations.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 31, 2019
Loved this hotel and GREAT location!! Very clean and friendly staff. Disappointed that there was no guest parking on the hotel grounds however
Laura1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback!
2.0PoorCheck-in Dec 31, 2019
Shower was awful. Had to hold the hose/shower head while taking a shower in a cramped space. Bar not open on New Year’s Eve. Waited 50 minutes for our valet to get the car (apparently forgot to write our number down. And then it just took forever. We had to cancel our brunch plans. Absolutely unacceptable.
Jodie1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback! We have taken your feedback to consideration to improve our overall service expectations.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 28, 2019
The facility overall was good.. Just seemed very understaffed. Waited 30 minutes to check in because rooms weren’t ready and waited 25 minutes for valet to bring our truck up. Could have been temporarily short staffed.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback! We have taken your feedback to consideration to improve our overall service expectations.
2.0PoorCheck-in Dec 27, 2019
The workout room was dirty and subpar, compared with other Aloft’s I have stayed in. The food service was extremely slow both days, and we waited 45 minutes for the valet to bring our car. The lobby was full of angry people.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback! We have taken your feedback to consideration to improve our overall service expectations.
2.0PoorCheck-in Dec 27, 2019
Unfriendly bartender. Lousy clientele in the hotel. Our toilet ran the entire night. The furnace was falling off the wall. No one asked how our stay was when we checked out. We wont be back!
JM1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback! We have taken your feedback to consideration to improve our overall service expectations.
6.0GoodCheck-in Dec 28, 2019
Staff was great. All other services were slow. Breakfast NOT worth the money.
1 night romance trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback! We have taken your feedback to consideration to improve our overall service expectations.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 28, 2019
Perfect location, walking distance to Fiserv Forum.
Lindsey1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 27, 2019
It was very clean and close to where we wanted to go.. walking distance
Iowa1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 27, 2019
Efficient check in & out Cleanliness Friendly gentlemen when checking in
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 21, 2019
Overall the property was beautiful and modern looking. It’s a five minute walk to the restaurants in downtown Milwaukee. The only issue was that there is no parking available and you have to pay $30 for valet or $17 for a mobile parking lot across the street. Additionally, we waited a while to get service to check in. Otherwise a great one night stay and we would stay there again!
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 22, 2019
Great location
Craig1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you!
6.0GoodCheck-in Dec 18, 2019
Get your hotels a decent breakfast! Parking is too high!
Manny1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback. We are definitely looking into this for future reference.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 13, 2019
the only downfall was our room didnt have a vent for the shower that worked. because we were only there for one night we didnt say anything. this is a b jill t of a deterrent for us when pickibg a hotel in Milwaukee though.
Kyle1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Dowtown
Thank you for your feedback!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 30, 2019
The location was amazing. The only issue was with parking options being unclear.
1 night romance trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback, we hope you enjoyed your stay! We are working on our parking options to better accommodate in the near future.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 30, 2019
Loved the location. Room was awesome. Even ubered to Potawatami, super easy
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback, we hope you enjoyed your stay!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 25, 2019
Lobby very nice for kids. Staff very accommodating.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Vee Vee
Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with us!
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 23, 2019
Great location. Will stay again if in the area. 1 block from the Fiserv Forum.
Dean1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Vee Vee
Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with us!
4.0FairCheck-in Nov 23, 2019
I usually don’t write reviews but this stay was not the greatest. The first thing was we got stuck in the bathroom reported to the front desk and they supposedly came and fixed it. When we got back to the room around 8pm the door was still broke and went to turn on the fan because it was hot in the room and that didn’t work. We reported for a second time and told them we would be gone until around 11. We got back to the room around 11 and nothing was fixed. It was late so we just dealt with it and went to sleep. The next morning I mentioned it and it was like they didn’t care at all. Just a quick I’m sorry. The sad thing is that it’s in a great location and it really is a nice hotel the Maintenance and customer service could be better.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you so much for taking time and providing us your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. I have received your feedback and addressed this with the corresponding departments. Once again, I do apologize for the inconvenience and hope we may be able to assist you in the near future.
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 23, 2019
Good room and service but a little loud
Everything was good (room/service) except for the walls being a bit thin resulting in a lot of noise.
Andy1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Vee Vee
Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with us!
6.0GoodCheck-in Nov 23, 2019
We arrived at 5:30 for 3:00 check in and they didn’t have the room ready. Staff didn’t really apologize or care
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Thank you for your feedback as we greatly appreciate this. I have discussed your concerns with the corresponding department.
6.0GoodCheck-in Nov 21, 2019
Room appeared nice, but was in disrepair. The temperature heat/ac unit was also malfunctioning and blew freezing cold air though it was set on heat.
1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Vee Vee
I do apologize to hear the malfunction of your HVAC unit. In the future, any issues can be taken care of right away once it is reported. We greatly appreciate your feedback.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 16, 2019
Workers where very nice . The location was perfect.
1 night trip with friends
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Vee Vee
Thank you for staying with us and we greatly appreciate your feedback.
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews