Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 room, 2 adults
500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes, England, MK9 2HQ, United Kingdom
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
8.0
Very good260 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
Business Hotel
Rated top 1% in Milton Keynes
  • 8.9Location
    • Great shopping
    • Great location
  • 8.4Breakfast
    • Tasty breakfast
  • 8.1Service
    • Fantastic service
  • 7.1WiFi
    • Good internet service

What guests say

  • Great shopping
  • AC needs updating
  • Rooms need regular maintenance
  • Hotel could use some updating

Narrow reviews:

260 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 28, 2020
Very enjoyable stay everything was clean and comfortable only small gripe was breakfast was overpriced dried out and almost cold
Lloyd1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 21, 2020
The hitting wasn’t working properly. I got cold.
Nadine2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 22, 2020
Great hotel
This hotel was lovely! The food in the Marco Pierre White restaurant was incredible and the bar offered a great selection of beers. The reception staff were not very good, I had to ask what our room number was and the woman acted like she was doing me a favour. The woman fronting the restaurant was rude when we tried to make a booking. Needless to say, we ate in the bar area. Overall the hotel was really lovely with a nice welcoming atmosphere in the bar area. The bar staff were attentive and friendly. The executive room was clean with a very comfy (and enormous) bed. Buffet style breakfast was very tasty too
Cherise1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 8, 2020
Mid priced hotel offering very good value for money. Check in smooth, very good facilities and a very good location. Would be my first choice for future visits.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 31, 2020
verall nice but slow bar service
Very nice venue good facilities. Service at the bar was very slow and disorganised. Pizza nice.
dr p j2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 25, 2020
Staff very helpful comfortable environment Nice to have a swim and central location
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 1, 2020
Great location... pleasant staff and good facilities at hotel. Room pleasant and clean, bed very comfortable.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 2, 2020
Milton Keynes is a maize, unless you know where your going. other than that nothing wrong with the hotel
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 13, 2019
An over night stay. Was perfect location for the shops. Food was lovely. Room very comfortable and clean.
1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 25, 2019
The property was clean and centrally located. I do not like being charged seperately for parking.
1 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 16, 2019
Good location clean and comfortable. Perfect for a night out
1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 9, 2019
We love this hotel we come every Christmas time to do Christmas shopping
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 8, 2019
Everything was very good nice room and friendly service, however, the heating in our room didn’t work and we were cold! It was reported to reception, but still wasn’t working when we returned that evening!
John1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 5, 2019
Good stay
Good location, and nice hotel, only problem is availability of 24 hour parking, other than limited hotel spots.
Alan1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 30, 2019
Room was clean and spacious although a bit dated. The in room empty mini bar was good to use as a fridge. The Atrium bar is a lovely space. The pool was a little cool for us personally, I think there was an issue & poolside could be improved. Gym area was good. Great location near to shopping and restaurants / bars.
QueenieV2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 25, 2019
Close to shops and restaurants. Swimming pool was good
3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 24, 2019
2 from London
Very helpful and friendly staff Breakfast excellent Although large this hotel had a very nice atmosphere about it
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Oct 23, 2019
OK for 1 night
OK as all I needed was a bed for the night. there was no hotel manual in the room, so I could not determine whether room service was available. I had to ask for a face cloth/ flannel for the bathroom, which these days is unusual, there was no bible, AS packet of biscuits on the tea tray would have made the experience more welcoming
ROGER1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Mirka Davies
Thank you for your feedback. There is a menu in the every room in the hotel, so I am surprised to hear you could not find it. Unfortunately we do not supply face cloths in standard rooms only in Executive I am afraid and unfortunately it is not the company's standard to put biscuits in our rooms. I do hope this will not stop you from coming to us again
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 28, 2019
All good - had a night out in Milton Keynes including a trip to the theatre. Hotel in an ideal location. Everything clean and tidy - great value for money
Paul1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Mirka
Thank you very much for your feedback
8.0Very goodCheck-in Sep 21, 2019
Breakfast was good Airconditioning in the rooms are not great. Rooms are a bit rundown, needs refurbishment.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 14, 2019
We had an amazing stay at the holiday inn,cldnt fault it,only advise is sockets no sockets anywhere near beds if wanting to plug fan in,or charge your phone,and switches next to bed if you wanted to turn 1 bed side light off you cldnt it was all on or none.other than those issues we would def return again,hotel very nice.
david1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
4.0FairCheck-in Sep 7, 2019
Not Great
The Pool, hideous, dirty, nothing like the picture on the website. Staff amazing, very helpful. Room, stained bed, dirtty bathroom. Overall not the best stay
Joanna1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 7, 2019
Great location
For the price we paid i wasn't expecting much but it was a pleasant surprise, don't get me wrong the rooms were dated but they were clean and the bed was comfortable. Fantastic location to all the shops and bars. Easy checking. If i had to point out one negative it would be the bar staff, it certainly wasn't service with a smile. I personally felt like an inconvenience and i witnessed the same treatment to other guests, hence the reason we only stopped for one drink.
Jodie1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Sep 1, 2019
Great breakfast. Friendly staff. Room must have been over the boiler ... Even with the window open and fan on full it was too hot. A duvet is great for a cool room but with no sheet a person trying to sleep cannot find a happy medium in a hot room.
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Aug 16, 2019
There is a swimming pool and health club in the hotel.
Edmond5 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 8, 2019
Great stay
Clean and ample parking. Gym and pool good.
David1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
4.0FairCheck-in Aug 1, 2019
The property looks old need a restoration and the rooms smelled bad
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
4.0FairCheck-in Jul 28, 2019
The hotel it self is set in a good location, you have lots of different shops with walking or driving distance. Such as intu Milton-Keynes or food places for a quick bite. The down side was the hospitality that we got the toilet flushes didn’t work and complained for the two nights that we were there but it was not sorted. Oh and I forgot to mention for a customer to the holiday inn we had to pay parking we had two cars which means that we had to pay £20 for the two days that we stayed definitely not a happy bunny. There were not enough sockets in the rooms to charge phones or laptops At the same time. Out breakfast was charged to our room which shouldn’t have happened as in the website it stated breakfast was included. And we were not informed that this had not been applied to our stay which means we had to pay extra on top of what we spent on the booking of the hotel. Would I stay here again maybe not would I recommend this to others definitely not.
Khan1232 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jul 20, 2019
Did not like the bathroom as it was showing signs of wear. Needs an urgent redecorating.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
4.0FairCheck-in Jul 15, 2019
Rooms Warm.
Room too warm, no air con despite the hotel advertising all rooms have air con, no outside opening windows, room opened into an internal area of the hotel that was warmer than the room!! Sink wouldn't drain, bath wouldn't drain, heard loads of complaints at reception when checking out for all of the above, told the receptionist at check out(after queuing for 12 mins, 3 receptionists, 1 working, two chatting)she couldn't of cared less!! Car parking £10 per night!! Airport Hotels are cheaper!!
Darren1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jul 5, 2019
Would definitely visit again. Staff very plesent and breakfast was excellent
Robert2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jul 2, 2019
Property overall was nice (clean, staff was great, etc), but my main room light was burning out (flashed like a strobe light sometimes) and the toilet handle would stick and sometimes not flush until I manually moved it back up and tried and few times.
Jeremy4 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Jun 29, 2019
Underwhelmed
The bathroom was tired and a bit scruffy. But clean. My meal in the restaurant that evening was utterly disappointing.
Andrew1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Jun 28, 2019
Pool was closed on the Friday of our arrival which was a bit disappointing as we we picked this hotel for its pool. It was open again on Saturday so not a total loss. TV & Aircon did not work ... surprises me that such things still happen in hotels! Had to skip breakfast on Saturday as there was a late start of 7:30am and no offer of a "breakfast to go" bit annoying as we had paid for it! ... Hotel bar did not do orange juice or crisps which annoyed my son somewhat too. Apart from that hotel was clean tidy and ok ... but its the little things people remember.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jun 28, 2019
Hotel really nice, staff very friendly
Theresa2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jun 29, 2019
Property was clean and tidy but showing signs of wear and tear
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jun 24, 2019
Standard type city center hotel.
Gary1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jun 11, 2019
Close proximity to shopping and restaurants and a grocery store too
2 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Jun 15, 2019
Didn't like the sliding doors at the windows instead of curtains,not enough information given about changing to another room when requesting a king size bed
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 7, 2019
Excellent value for money. I shall use this group again.
Dudley1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in May 31, 2019
Does exactly what you would expect. Clean rooms, standard features and functions. Nothing special but fine for a night as somewhere to stop over.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jun 2, 2019
All god. And satisfying wrreerrrrrrreefwtyu thhggth fgghfg
3 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
4.0FairCheck-in Jun 1, 2019
Would go back to Milton Keynes but not this hotel
Terrible experience for my birthday, the hotel bathroom was dirty and so was the bed sheets. Air conditioning didn’t even work it was one of the hottest weekends to date. Location is perfect but wouldn’t recommend the hotel. The bar is great with really friendly staff
Zara1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in May 31, 2019
Not bad.
Hotels in a great place between the shopping centre and a range of bars and restaurants. The hotel is nice, easy to find. The pool wasn’t like the photo, very dated and is used for a lot of children’s swimming lessons and club members so wasn’t very relaxing however good if you just to do lane swimming. The room was ok, the beds are super comfy however our room didn’t have a window or anyway to let fresh air in so was quite dark and stuffy. The air con was good, definitely needed it! There are a few hotels around this area, maybe not the best, however might be best for parking.
2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in May 31, 2019
Ok stay
The room was more comfortable than I expected. A little rough around the edges and a dated looking bathroom but overall the bedroom was a good size and nicely laid out.
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in May 23, 2019
Nice clean room. Still and Sparkling water in room. Fabulous and tasty breakfast. Good choice.
Ian1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
4.0FairCheck-in May 6, 2019
The proximity of the hotel to the mall and restaurants was handy. It had a small gym and swimming pool and a good restaurant. Unfortunately our stay was marred from day 1. Disgruntled staff, couldn't get a hold of room service nor the restaurant, food was wrong when it eventually arrived, there were urine drops on the toilet seat, towel rack fell apart, bath drain was totally black and gross, toilet paper was the cheapest kind, couldn't adjust room temperature, tv didn't work, etc.
2 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in May 4, 2019
The room was fine but there were a few things missing when we needed them, hit water being pretty high just when we needed to get ready for the party round the corner which us why we stayed where we did. The boilers were down, so call reception dial 0, oh we don't actually have a phone in our room so had to get fully dresses and go down eating into time I shoukd have been getting ready. Was told the problem was fixed, which to be fair was true but the water still took time to be hot enough good for a shower and a hair wash. Oh and putting my face in was a bit difficult as there was no light bulb in the mirror on the dressing table.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Apr 19, 2019
The central bar area was spacious and whilst inside it had an outdoors feel to it
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Mar 31, 2019
The property looked in need of refurbishment the carpet in my room had considerable staining and was not up to the standard I expected from a Hollday Inn The mechanism to fill the bath or alternatively shower did not work properly
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews