Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 room, 2 adults

The Randolph Hotel

5-star5 stars
Beaumont Street, Oxford, England, OX1 2LN, United Kingdom
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
8.2
Very good837 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
Luxury Hotel
Rated top 4% in Oxford
  • 9.1Location
    • Great location
  • 7.3Service
    • Fantastic service
  • 4.7Food
    • Menu is not great
    • Food could be better
  • 3.9Value
    • Value for money could be better
Show more

What guests say

  • Friendly atmosphere
  • Comfortable beds
  • Average hotel building
  • Menu is not great

Narrow reviews:

837 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

8.0Very goodCheck-in Mar 14, 2020
Lovely stay in the middle of Oxford. Staf were very helpful and amenable. Some slight issue with teh heating in the room - just too hot but generally everythign was lovely. Old fashioned hotel but a lovely stay
Tas1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Mar 15, 2020
The room was fine and the bar but the decor leading to the bedrooms was less tasteful and old fashioned
Rebecca1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 15, 2020
superb hotel
Great location in the centre, everything luxurious and beautiful
caroline1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 14, 2020
Lovely period property with great features Stunning architecture
Lesley1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Mar 7, 2020
victoire1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Mar 7, 2020
Lovely character but the constant squeak from the floor boards in the corridor and rooms above meant sleep was difficult. Also, air conditioning was Intentionally disabled and the windows when open, rattled in the breeze so it was very hot. For these reasons I wouldn’t stay there again. Very good staff though.
Paul1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 3, 2020
First trip to Oxford. The Randolph is very close to the Ashmolean Museum, The Eagle & Child, and many of the University Colleges.
Dave4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
2.0PoorCheck-in Mar 1, 2020
Breakfast choice was poor - limited choice in the corner of a room and the quality of the produce was 3* at best. No local produce and difficult to lift lid on buffet as heavy and too hot (most of the food was overdone). The bedroom - deluxe room was small, bed was awful, the carpets outside the room needed changing and the floorboards were creaky therefore you can hear people walking outside . The room was stuffy and the air conditioning didn't work. No turndown service and mini bar was empty. The building - building downstairs is attractive but work is needed upstairs in the bedrooms. The staff - difficult to find them when looking to order afternoon tea. When they finally arrived we asked for no butter in sandwiches but received the afternoon tea with butter in sandwiches and the food looked as if it had seen better days. Parking - we reserevd a place but this cost £40.
Matt1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
4.0FairCheck-in Mar 4, 2020
Below expectations
way below expectations. Very small room. Cheap and old finishings Definitely not a 5 star
Filippo1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 29, 2020
Good stay. Accessibility can be improve
Second time staying here. Improved from previous stay. Access to my room was a bit out of the way. There were stairs that cant be avoid. Would be helpful if the front desk mentioned it to me. It would be tough for elderly
Liza2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 28, 2020
Beautiful and comfortable
The hotel is extremely elegant! We chose this hotel because of the TV shows: Morse, Inspector Lewis and Morse. Our room was very comfortable and very roomy. Great service!!
Lisa2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 23, 2020
Our initial room smelled of hydrogen sulphide. All rooms were tired. To be fair, the staff rapidly changed our room and were polite. The new room was at the back-a long way through multiple corridors and stairs— however the room was quiet large and better condition and smelled clean. The hotel needs a huge refurbishment job, but value was reasonable on discount.
3 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 20, 2020
Central location. Old world ambience. Good service from the concierge.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 19, 2020
Could not fault my stay at the Randaulph. Professional staff. Beautiful food.
Philip-Morris3 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 20, 2020
The property is becoming faded and run down. It nedds to be refreshed and updated.
JM1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 17, 2020
Excellent snd enjoyable stay. Rooms clean and welcoming with good bathroom. The spa is great
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 19, 2020
Everything was perfect and breakfast included. Five star service.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 16, 2020
It is a wonderful historic building in the perfect location
Chris1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 15, 2020
It was a lovely setting, well appointed and decorated. A few points: not much information in the room about the spa (where it was, what the facilites were, when it closed), fridge in the room but no fresh milk (just 4 pots of UHT, which wasn't enough), breakfast was a buffet - continental was great, but I would have expected a cook to order service (selection of eggs, eggs benedict, smoked salmon etc), not just a full english buffet. I don't like to ask for things, I expect information to be provided, or if alternatives are available I expect it to be clearly articulated.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 15, 2020
Excellent location, room, service and food. Right from check-in to check-out the service was excellent. Thank you.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 15, 2020
Very nice central location. The bed was comfortable & the room clean and spacious. The Concierge staff were really excellent. The restaurant let the hotel down with coffee & toast not arriving at breakfast & an hour‘s wait between starter & main course at dinner.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 7, 2020
Really impressed with the majority of things, heating in the room didn't work until the end of our trip - a not on the heating system
2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 9, 2020
Lovely hotel with lots of character. Great location opposite the Ashmolean and easy to walk to all the key attractions. I have wanted to stay here for a while and I was not disappointed.
Debbie1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
2.0PoorCheck-in Feb 8, 2020
I never write a review but here I really have to say something! that property is not a 5* hotel at all, staff aren't trained properly - they prefer to have chats between them instead of helping you. rooms are very old & you need a tom tom to get to your room even if you use the lift you still need to climb stairs to get to your room. breakfast is horrible too no variety at all. never again totally overpriced room rates not even not a 3* star hotel. no minibar, no nice products in the bathroom just nothing. totally disappointed. staff even dont know a difference between a tea cup or a coffee cup -cmon you say you are a 5* hotel??? I would love to get my money back!!!
Melanie1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 5, 2020
The Scottish breakfast buffet is excellent. The staff was a bit flakey though.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 5, 2020
Room was comfortable and it was nice to have a fridge. It was difficult to control the temperture and we were cold a lot of the time. The breakfast was very disappointing and our server didn't mention there were freshly made items to order. Instead she only directed us to the buffet. The hot breakfast items were luke warm and over cooked. The toast she brought out was barley toasted and also cold. Additionally there was such a strong floral scent from a room freshner it felt quite hard to breath in the dining room.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 2, 2020
The concierge boys were lovely and really looked after my car
Fo1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 19, 2020
The Randolph is a wonderful Victorian era hotel, aging somewhat but still grand and gracious and comfortable.
4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
4.0FairCheck-in Jan 25, 2020
The hotel is tired and needs some work. Not a 5* experience. The bar is nice but cluttered with empty used glasses and overall service is OK but not amazing. Also, we were unable to get a good night sleep as the floorboards are so loud you can hear everyone walking passed your room in the morning and evening. Location is very good though
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Georgie, Bars Manager
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at The Randolph Hotel. I am sorry to hear you found the bar cluttered, and I can ensure these are not the standards of service we expect. This feed back will be shared with my team. I am glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel, and we would love for you to return again. Kind regards,
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 18, 2020
The hotel is centrally located in city centre and very convenient, hotel staff are very helpful and hotel rooms are very comfortable. I highly recommend and will stay again when next visit.
3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 16, 2020
Wonderful location for Oxford to take in all the sights. Amazingly hospitable and kind. Would stay there again!
John1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 6, 2020
Hotel great location,room good Breakfast staff and quality dreadful, Cold toast ,no bread ,no fresh yoghurt ,cold scramble egg,surely senior staff Will stay elsewhere next time
2 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 4, 2020
The room was clean and large with a powerful shower. Bed very large & very comfortable
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 29, 2019
Good central stay. Very small dinner portions but tasty!
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 27, 2019
Excellent service— at last a restaurant and hotel which employs enough staff.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 27, 2019
Great service and food excellent but the building needs some TLC . Lifts need a face lift and carpets worn in some Spots. Bad drain smell in one area near lifts.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Dec 27, 2019
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 20, 2019
Fantastic old hotel, centrally located in the heart of Oxford.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Dec 19, 2019
satisfactory for a quick tay
This hotel is in an old building. The room that I stayed in had been completely renovated. It was clean and comfortable. I wouldn't rate it at the five star level, but it was certainly ok.
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 16, 2019
Olde world style hotel - annoying service charge !
The accomodation was very nice despite some minor problems, mould around the bathroom window, the bath vanity panel needing changing and less than adequate stock for the in room drinks facility, my biggest annoyance however is that SERVICE CHARGE is added to absolutely everything and you often don't even realise until you check out how many things it has been added to, I hate this practice and wish they would stop, I prefer to reward good service when and if I think I have had it, I certainly don't believe that 12.5% is indicated by default. High point was dinner in the Alcanthus restaurant, top notch food which would not have looked out of place on Masterchef.
K C3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Dec 17, 2019
Very disappointed
Hotel is not of a 5* standard. Reception staff paid to do a job that they clearly are not overly happy with, a smile would not hurt them. You need to put a note on here about the car parking, they may have it but it is chargeable £45.00 is just a crazy amount to pay, you pay less in London. If i had known this at the time of booking I would not have booked the hotel!!!!! Room was a long long way from reception, with numerous flights of stairs Bathroom needed attention - shower leaked ALOT All in all for the price of the room very unsatisfied, have stayed in 3/4 star hotels of better quality
1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Dec 16, 2019
Clean and comfortable - terrible service
Upgraded on arrival to a suite which was lovely; spacious and clean with all the necessary amenities including kettle, coffee machine, iron and board, refrigerator, toiletries etc and a large comfortable bed with ample storage. We had dinner included in our booking, and although service was slow the food was lovely with ample choice on the food and drinks menu. We returned to the room to find a party was taking place directly below our room - you could feel the music beating through the floor and heard the music word for word. I called reception who said the music may be coming from across the road as they weren’t aware of any party’s but would investigate. They never called back so my partner went to investigate and indeed found a party in the hotel function room directly below our room and next to reception. I called again and they said the music would stop and midnight and they would ask them to turn it down. It did get turned down but we could still hear the music and the people partying shouting and singing along. When I complained the next day the receptionist couldn’t understand why I was angry stating that the music was turned off, as we were told, at midnight. She said they were fully booked so couldn’t move us. After I stated I wanted to officially complain they offered to clear the £50 tab on our room. But considering our booking was much more and that they put us in this room; it wasn’t what we had booked, I think it is disgusting and below 5 star service.
Holly1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 15, 2019
Great stay
Great hotel Concierge brilliant Reception less so
Clifford1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 8, 2019
Amazing ambience - all of the old world feel and amenities you want in a hotel. Wonderful staff, clean and a beautiful place to stay.
MT3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 3, 2019
Not good enough
The hotel is simply beautiful, the staff polite and the location incredible. However certain issues have left us quite frustrated. Rooms are rather small for the price. At night time (around 9.30) we had some drinks in the hotel bar and decided to have a bite to eat as well. We asked for the menus and a staff member didn't know whether the kitchen was open, a second staff member said that the kitchen was closed and a third person reassured us it is open! I found it quite frustrating, to not have a clear answer on such a simple and reasonable request. The breakfast was simply unacceptable. Very few options on the buffet and ridiculously over-priced. We ordered an omelette that was served without any garnishes, just a simple, hasty omelet that cost us around 20 pounds. We didn't even consider having breakfast at the hotel again. All in all the hotel beautiful but would never stay again, at least not for this price.
Chloe2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 7, 2019
Luxurious hotel
Absolutely loved it here. Friendly service from start to finish. Deserves 5 stars. Definitely stay again.
John1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Dec 6, 2019
Great hotel, friendly straff
1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 2, 2019
Lovely comfortable hotel in ideal location in Oxford.
Lenore3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 5, 2019
Our room was very comfortable. The lights were a bit difficult to figure out and the heating system was inscrutable. We like a bit of air at night and it took us a bit to figure out how to open the windows. Otherwise the rooms we were given (we were upgraded) were probably the most lovely and luxurious we have aver stayed in.
Elizabeth1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Nov 29, 2019
Not a 5-Star experience
Disappointing experience, not the level you’d expect for a 5 star. Heating was broken in the room and very cold, shower head was also broken and had to be held during use. We got moved into another room on the second day due to the heating issue. Spa was also fully booked with no ability for guests to even use the facilities.
2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews