Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 room, 2 adults
Queen Square, Bath, England, BA1 2HH, United Kingdom
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
8.8
Fabulous389 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
Shopping
Rated top 6% in Bath
  • 9.4Location
    • Great location
  • 9.1Service
    • Fantastic service
    • Great reception
  • 7.4Breakfast
    • Tasty breakfast
  • 7.3Room
    • Great room
Show more

What guests say

  • Friendly service
  • Professional service
  • Stylish hotel
  • Great reception

Narrow reviews:

389 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 15, 2020
Great customer service
We had a short break just before Coronavirus fully struck. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Accessible shower really well equipped and spacious for a wheelchair user. Really central for the sights. Really enjoyed visiting Bath. Would stay here again.
MARCELLA2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sales Team
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 3, 2020
First business stay
Great place, centre location with parking, food in the restaurant was fantastic, wouldn't stay anywhere else in bath. A real gem
Adrian1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sales Team
Many thanks for leaving your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards
8.0Very goodCheck-in Mar 4, 2020
Good feedback for u all
Very comfortable stay. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.it would have been nice to have had a radio in our room thats only a minor problem.Excellent to have bathrobes and slippers provided.
M2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sales Team
Many thanks for leaving your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 3, 2020
Nothing but praise
Absolutely outstanding stay. Staff couldn’t be more hospitable. We extended our stay and concierge Matthew ensured we were as comfortable as possible....which was very comfortable. Very well appointed rooms. Very clean. Absolutely nothing but praise.
Alan1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sales Team
Many thanks for taking the time to leave you feedback, I will pas you comments onto Matthew. We are delighted he helped made your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 28, 2020
Weekend stay
Classic room with some issues Bedside wall badly scratched and dented Ceiling light bulb not working I swapped this with a bulb from the bedside lamp 1 pack of crumbled broken biscuits 1 shower gel / shampoo 1 English breakfast teabag Room seem to be set up for one person
Andrew1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sales Team
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, I have past your comments onto the relevant departments to investigate. We hope that this didnt not spoil the stay too much for you and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 20, 2020
Recent Visit to Bath
Lovely hotel in fantastic location. Very clean with friendly staff on reception.
Susan2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sales Tema
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 17, 2020
Excellent location, huge room and great staff. The shower was quick to fill though...
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Sales Team
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 19, 2020
A hotel in the centre of Bath with on-site parking. It is close to all of the main attractions. Friendly and welcoming staff.
Steve1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Sales Team
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 7, 2020
Another lovely stay at a super hotel right in the centre of Bath. Nice room, great staff. Superb food.
Ludo1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Sales
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards
8.0Very goodCheck-in Feb 1, 2020
Weekend away
Very pleasant stay. Main down point was breakfast as buffet style and not up to standard? May be this was a very me off but eggs and bacon just warm.
Simon1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Sales Team
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 21, 2020
Right in the city centre, comfortable room, helpful staff, perfect place for a stay in lovely Bath
Jill2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Sales Team
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 18, 2020
Family getaway
The hotel was lovely! Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are clean and the breakfast was delicious.
Stefani1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 17, 2020
Enjoyed our stay,nice hotel. A little expensive ,but most are in Bath.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 18, 2020
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff were very helpful. We came with our adult children and their bathroom had no hot water for a shower in the morning - probably more of a minus point for them than it would have been for us! But it meant the stay (for my daughter’s birthday) wasn’t quite 100% successful. Otherwise the hotel position was excellent, and the hotel interesting and enjoyable. Beds especially comfortable.
Frances1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 9, 2020
Very good stay in Bath
Dues to scheduling this enemies up being a solo stay. However I think this would be a perfectly romantic location. The rooms are well appointed and the fumigate and bedding is in perfect condition. The location is fantastic, (I didn’t have a car so that May change things). The staff were all very friendly and the bar was a comfortable place to sit.
Anthony2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 10, 2020
The service was so warm and friendly. Even when we wanted to change our room, we were made to feel that our happiness was paramount. Lovely staff!! Brasserie Blanc adjoining, is a real blessing; delicious food! I I didn’t like that there isn’t a mini fridge in the room, or that there is only a single packet of cookies in a double room... seems a little stingy. These are tiny, nitpicking points however; the hotel is lovely and I would thoroughly recommend it!
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 10, 2020
A good nights stay
Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was good. Lots of nice touches like the phone
John1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Jan 6, 2020
Great Hotel, central location
Great service, quirky room on a slope! Nice bar area. The associated Blanc Brasserie is nothing special, opposite to expectations, the food is very average - eat elsewhere.
MR R A2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 28, 2019
We took my wife's parents to Bath for their anniversary, and they had a wonderful time. They loved both their room and the hotel restaurant. The service was phenomenal all around.
1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 27, 2019
Returning guest
Frequent visitor to this hotel. Very centrally located and comfortable
Michael1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 19, 2019
Fantastic little find
Everything about this hotel is fabulous. The Central Location is fantastic, it has parking and the rooms are a food size. Throughly enjoyed the stay. It nice to sit in a pleasant bar area and drink till late whilst the rest of the bars were mad Friday busy. The rooms are comfy and modern. It may cost a little extra but totally worth every Penny. Will def return.
Tania2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
2.0PoorCheck-in Dec 14, 2019
Food and service in the restaurant was no better than a cheap cafe. Bar if you can call it that didn't have any items we asked for and we we asked for a cocktail he said he didn't know what it was and had no interest in finding out! The T.V. did not work in our room. Breakfast was horrendous! Little choice and substandard cooked breakfast, cold tea and we had to get our own milk in a cup!!!! After we were turned away, being told...I had not booked for breakfast!!!!
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 6, 2019
Problem with shower hot water solved quickly.
2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Nov 27, 2019
Bath Christmas Market visit
The Francis Hotel was ideally placed in town for the Christmas Market. We had problems with the TV in the room which the hotel staff eventually fixed. Unlikely to stay here again.
Kevin2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 1, 2019
Very nice hotel and in the perfect location to bath town center,
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 30, 2019
Perfect hotel for a visit to Bath
Perfect location for our visit to the Christmas markets! Beautiful hotel.
Laura1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 28, 2019
Perfect for Bath centre
Lovely hotel staff very friendly, however they do need to sort out the reception area it is cramped and small and restricts access when there are a few people trying check in or out
1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 24, 2019
Nicely decorated, friendly staff. Fantastic shower
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 21, 2019
All was good unfortunately I have not received my invoice eve though I have call 3 times asking for it
Cristina1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 20, 2019
One Night in Bath
We were upgradr upon arrival at no extra cost. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The facilities suited our 1 night stay perfectly. The quirky ceiling picture amused us greatly.
Stephanie1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 12, 2019
Beautifully positioned for the main attractions of the beautiful city of Bath.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 15, 2019
Very good
Petra your manager was excellent - we had an issue with our initial room and she sorted it out very quickly - which completely restored our faith in the hotel. Only problem is lack of parking spaces
Julia2 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 12, 2019
Bath visit
Nice hotel, staff very good , great location for shopping etc, restaurant was very good.
Raymond1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 8, 2019
The property was wonderfully positioned in the center of bath, within Queen Square, easily walkable to all attractions. The building itself had wonderful old world charm, as they labeled each room with who used to reside there in days of old. The room a few doors down from where we stayed, used to home John Wood, the famous architect of Bath! The restaurant attached to the hotel served a wonderful breakfast each morning. The bed and pillows were wonderfully comfortable. The one downfall of staying in an old building was that it was slightly damp and drafty. The rooms were small and the bathroom was tiny. The room we stayed was facing the back of the building, which seemed excessively loud each night, with staff dumping trash and bottles. The rooms also allowed for you to hear noisy neighboring patrons each night. Some of the staff at the entrance of the hotel were not in any hurry to be attentive, while some were. That said, I would still recommend this hotel as it was wonderfully located, clean, and quiet comfortable.
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 27, 2019
Everyone was very friendly. The hotel is well appointed and supremely located.
Andrew4 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 26, 2019
Nice hotel charging top prices BUT
Hotel was great and charged top prices but the very small room we were put in had cracked plasterwork on the walls. The noise from rooftop air condition units had us awake all night. I suppose if you want to stay in the city centre you have to pay top prices and get small old rooms.
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
4.0FairCheck-in Oct 25, 2019
Very average service and room facilities from a ‘luxury hotel’. Our experience of our weekend there included: - a cold room with air con unable to warm the room up. - a broken towel rail in bathroom - slippery bathroom floor because of leaking shower - a TV that faced a wall, meaning we had to move the bed to be able to see it. - dirty looking carpet, that needed a good hoover. - blank dull walls with no decoration at all. - slow checkout experience with seemingly over stretched inexperienced staff. The end.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Oct 21, 2019
Ok but room for improvement
Reasonable room though ... - very poor selection of channels (BBC 1/2 OK, then random. No ITV or C4). Asked for it to be resolved, and no improvement. Colleagues have found the same issue - my soap binned - towels changed - though this isn't unique to this hotel - reception doesn't answer phone when calling from outside: hung on for over 5 minutes, and gave up I've booked several times in next weeks - hope things improve otherwise I'm cancelling
3 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 18, 2019
Nice boutique hotel
Parking is difficult
Thomas1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 22, 2019
The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was lovely too!
MC1 night romance trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 20, 2019
Great location with fabulous staff. Had a little problem with the heating which couldn’t be resolved, was dealt with quickly and efficiently and were helped to move to an upgraded room. Couldn’t be more apologetic and helpful. As we all know problems can occur but it’s how they are dealt with that dictates and they were first class. Would I recommend- absolutely. Would I go again - undoubtedly!!
Christine1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 15, 2019
Great location clean room and friendly staff
Janet1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Oct 13, 2019
The overhead shower was leaking cold water through the ceiling and was moldy. They moved us to a different room.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 11, 2019
A big thank you to Page and the team for looking after Mrs Print so well.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 4, 2019
irst class
Fantastic hotel in a fantastic location. First class
Stephen1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 27, 2019
Excellent
Lovely hotel,great service, friendly staff would highly recommend. Exceeded all expectations
Victoria1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 23, 2019
Anniversary break
Stayed for two nights room was very nice with good size bathroom. Floor creaked a bit. As we had a room at the front of the hotel it was a bit noisy.. Good selection for breakfast and staff were very polite and helpful. Would certainly stay there again.
anne2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 18, 2019
Liked the fact that it was an old hotel ( not modern) .Staff was very friendly . Did not like the fact that the ceiling was extremely low .
Joe3 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 20, 2019
Great location
Lovely decor, friendly staff and very good location. Unfortunately our bed a little uncomfortable.
Laura1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Sep 14, 2019
It worked out well in the end
Well, at the last minute, and despite our booking being made months earlier, we were contacted by the hotel to say our room had been double booked and was no longer available for us. I don't know if this is usual for this hotel or for hotels in general, but needless to say I was somewhat disappointed. However, to be fair to the hotel they did offer us a room in another hotel nearby and made all the arrangements, which we accepted, and we stayed there. It was a very nice modern hotel right in the centre of town. They were expecting us, had a room ready even though we arrived early, were very friendly, and we were very happy with our stay. So despite the last minute changes all worked out well. I cant review the Francis hotel and we didn't stay there! But the replacement hotel gets top mark's!!
andrew1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews