Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Athens, Attica, Greece
1 room, 2 adults
1 Vasileos Georgiou A' str., Syntagma Square, Athens, Attiki, 105 64, Greece
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
9.4
Exceptional270 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
  • 9.2Vibe
    • Awesome vibe
  • 9.0Wellness Area
    • Great wellness & sports facilities
  • 8.8Food
    • Delicious food
    • Tasty breakfast
  • 8.6Bar
    • Bar is awesome
Show more

What guests say

  • Luxurious Hotel
  • Friendly atmosphere
  • Stylish hotel
  • Great view

Narrow reviews:

270 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 26, 2020
Everything about this Luxury Hotel was Fantastic! I would highly recommend it to everyone!
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 5, 2020
The butler service was unique. Add a sense of ease to the trip.
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 4, 2020
We have stayed at the Grande Bretagne many times over the years It is an absolutely beautiful hotel the staff the accommodations the food and the ambience are simply wonderful would like to live here forever
1 night trip
Verified Travelocity guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 27, 2019
Amazing great location good service clean
Salem3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 20, 2019
Perfect in every way possible. We could not have picked a better location for our short stay. Thanks to everyone
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
4.0FairCheck-in Oct 8, 2019
Not worth the expense. The hotel is primarily focused on business and government guests. Tourists are an afterthought at best. During our stay a conference was taking place at the hotel that required us to go through security every time we entered the hotel. We felt as much hospitality as staying at the airport.
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 5, 2019
Great location, within walking distance of places of interest and neighbourhoods, good service, excellent indoor pool and spa, roof top restaurant with a view of the Acropolis
CL3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 12, 2019
Simply a classic hotel. The spa facilities were exceptional and the rooftop facilities excellent.
Andrew2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 11, 2019
Location was superb, view of Acropolis amazing from rooftop bar
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 10, 2019
Excellent location and service. Very old school - great view from 8th floor bar and restaurant.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 29, 2019
Location, location, location you can see the Acropolis from the restaurant
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 21, 2019
Friendly helpful culture Excellent One on the best i have stayed in
3 night trip
Verified Wotif guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 22, 2019
Beautiful property. Room a bit small. Excellent service.
1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 7, 2019
A high quality hotel in the centre of Athens. Just what we wanted and made our short break very enjoyable.
4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 4, 2019
Great location Close to fancy shops Not far from Acropolis
3 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 19, 2019
Lovely hotel in the center of Athens!!! Really the luxury collection!!!
VLAD1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 3, 2019
The service was top notch. The view was incredible. In my opinion, it was perfectly placed to watch the sunset. The food and drink selection was some of the best I’ve ever tasted.
Bryan3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 5, 2019
MAMMA MIA TRIP
The Hotel Grande Bretagne was recommended to me by a friend who also lives in Athens. It was the most beautiful and luxurious hotel I have ever stayed at--perfect from beginning to end! The hotel offered excellent concierge and reception staff, a butler to assist us, a beautiful balcony overlooking the parliament, fabulous roof top outdoor pool, and excellent cocktails both in the pool area and on the rooftop bar/restaurant overlooking the Acropolis!! Pricey but totally worth it!! My daughter and I traveled for the first time to Greece, and loved every minute of our trip.
Carol2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Sep 3, 2019
Food at Grande Bretagne Coffee Shop
The Hotel is GRAND . Superb location and OLD WORLD CHARM . We were there for just one night so wanted and decided to eat at the Hotel --Coffee Shop at the Lobby Level . I wish we had not . It was not an evening to remember FOOD wise . The place is grand , the service as good but the FOOD --was never again
Harish Kumar1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 24, 2019
Great location, excellent facilities & fantastic staff
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 21, 2019
The property is charming and incredibly well situated, walking distance to stores and restaurants.
2 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 8, 2019
Fantastic overall and can't believe the view from the rooftop bar and restaurant! Would definitely return.
sherri2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 14, 2019
A wonderful hotel, and especially great staff. The rooms and the closet space are just very small.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Aug 16, 2019
The pool area was beautiful and the food was good.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 9, 2019
LOVE this hotel! Gorgeous views from breakfast and the pool! Decent spa. Very comfortable rooms and bed. Excellent location. Staff is extremely friendly.
1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
4.0FairCheck-in Aug 9, 2019
Check in counter unfriendly Not helpful at all Unfortunately
1 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 3, 2019
This hotel lives up to the hype and worth the money. We stayed on the butler floor only because it included breakfast which was absolutely perfect. Gorgeous room, immaculately clean and well appointed. The view of the Acropolis at night from the rooftop bar amazing and same view in the morning at breakfast. Lobby bar beautiful as well. If you want one splurge on your trip, this is it.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 24, 2019
Amazing! We will be back! The staff was extremely friendly, both restaurants were amazing.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 4, 2019
Overall excellent location, service and great staff.
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 2, 2019
The hotel was absolutely beautiful and perfect location. The view from dinner was unbelievable!
Laura1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in May 17, 2019
Resting on location
First impressions last and ours was unfortunately less than impressive! We arrived with no less than six men who appeared to be bellman and secret service agents staring at us but uninterested in helping us with the car doors, luggage and or hotel doors... no welcome etc. keeping in mind we had just left the Stafford in London where they swarmed like bees to ensure we felt welcomed, addressing us by name and offering champagne... so might be a bit skewed on expectations. How had dinner reservations and were sent to the wrong spot by the bellman without apologies and or acknowledgement that he in fact did give the driver the wrong address. Day two was comical we had to hail our own cab after asking one of the six men in suits to please assist and were admonished when the bellman arrived about 10 min later . Reception is cold and overall uninterested in making you feel welcome or special. The spa is awesome and free along with WiFi and rooftop is amazing 😉
Leslie2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 4, 2019
The hotel was a perfect choice. The hotel excelled in all areas, location, services , personnel. I look forward to returning.
MK4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 12, 2019
The grandeur of the property.position, the rooftop view , the great food .
5 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 4, 2019
The view of the Acropolis for breakfast and dinner was amazing.
1 night trip with friends
Verified CheapTickets guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 21, 2019
This hotel is truly amazing! We have stayed here many times before and it’s always a pleasure! The location is unbeatable! Anything you need is just a few steps away. The only complaint we have is that the restaurant staff (dinner) lacks training. We noticed many of them talking badly and making fun of the patrons dining there. It was a letdown since you don’t expect that type of behavior from an establishment of this caliber. Hopefully this could get addressed in the near future! It takes away from the whole experience.
John1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 23, 2019
Best hotel in Athens
Fabulous hotel faultless service. Will definitely stay again
rebecca1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 26, 2019
Lokes: Central location. Service. Private balcony with clear view of the Acropolis The only frustration was the instructions on WIFI access but, when I managed to convince the concierge that there was in fact a problem, he promised to advise the hotel’s IT people that a fix is needed.
HCL4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 16, 2019
I especiaally liked the resturaaaant on the eighth floor where i could see the parthenon. What a great way to see the sun rise.
4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 20, 2019
Getting to/from the hotel via the Metro is super easy. The room was spectacular. We had an awesome balcony view of the central plaza and the Acropolis. The outdoor pool was closed (off season) so we used the indoor pool at the spa (free). Nice sauna/steam room options. The pool was slightly chilly for me. Concierge very helpful. Housekeeping was helpful & easy to find.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 5, 2018
Definitely the place to stay in Athens. Classic beauty with impeccable service and grace. Make sure you don’t miss opera night.
7 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 21, 2018
Location very central. Close to shopping and metro
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 17, 2018
We loved the hotel, amazing service and spa. Best location, comftorable room, sick response time
4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 10, 2018
Just a pleasure staying there. Perfect service and location.
5 night trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 6, 2018
Great Stay in the Heart of Athens
The Hotel Grande Bretagne offered us a wonderful experience. We enjoyed our short time at the hotel very much. The cigar lounge was excellent. The breakfast buffet was spectacular! Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Christopher1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 27, 2018
Beautiful hotel, very central. A few silly annoying issues that you wouldn’t expect with an expensive hotel such as tea/coffee/mini bar not refilled, turn down service not always done. On the whole though a lovely place to stay, spa was wonderful.
4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 21, 2018
Best hotel in Athens
We were only at the hotel one night but it was a lovely experience. Everything was very nice and the staff was efficient. We really enjoyed the rooftop restaurant. We ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant with the most amazing view. The proximity to attractions is unbeatable! All of our tour guides said it was the #1 hotel in Athens and I would agree.
Sharon1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 7, 2018
This hotel was awesome. Very nice rooms, clean and quiet. Perfect location. The staff was very helpful. The restaurant was really great.
Tami5 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very goodCheck-in Nov 10, 2018
very well located - old style classic decor - wonderful 8th floor dining area with view of Acropolis
James1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 8, 2018
Perfect
One of the most beautiful hotels, great night view of the Parthenon, great service!!
Ann2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 2, 2018
You need to have small sweets after dinner NOT big desserts. The view is so spectacular. Lost luggage was a REAL pain! Lunch rooftop needs to open at 12 noon NOT 13:00. Great time!!!
Brad6 night trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews